Music

Got One Direction tickets? Ticketmaster sells out in record 10.6 seconds

Ticketmaster sold out of One Direction tickets in a record 10.6 seconds today, although it’s already being reported that a handful of extra dates will be added in the next few days to the band’s UK and Ireland tour. Expect those tickets to also sell rapidly.

See also: £1,000 for a One Direction tour ticket? Fans angry at ticket tout profits

Fans of One Direction reported, variously, that they had trouble accessing the site and that in some cases tickets allegedly went on sale a couple of minutes before the scheduled 10am opening. Those claims have not been verified. However, even the largest ticket sites have historically struggled when huge numbers of fans constantly refresh pages to see if tickets are available. It’s a problem with the architecture of the internet, at times triggering accidental DDOS-style strikes on the sites concerned.

The scarcity of tickets is already causing warnings about the possibility of touts charging massive mark-ups. A quick look at eBay and similar sites reveals loads of people offering tickets for hundreds of pounds. Some of those deals might be genuine, but some will undoubtedly be scams.

One Direction are a part-British, part-Irish boyband who hit fame when they came third in the 2010 series of The X Factor. Despite that third placed finish, the band – comprising Niall Horan, Zayn Malik, Liam Payne, Harry Styles and Louis Tomlinson – has arguably been the most successful X Factor band of recent years. Today’s scramble for tickets is linked to their first ever headline UK / Ireland tour.

Discussion

24 thoughts on “Got One Direction tickets? Ticketmaster sells out in record 10.6 seconds

  1. It is totally frustrating! we spent over an hour from 10am – on the dot! when we got through to the Civic Hall – probably 50 times, only to hear an automated message to say that ‘operators were busy’. Goodness knows what our mobile phone bill will be!! When tickets are flooding Ebay at ridiculous prices..! How did they get them – certainly won’t be ripped off? My 11 year old is still crying this afternoon – as is her best friend! Heart breaking! Fingers crossed for some more dates! Will keep trying for you Katherine and Emily – coz you are beautiful!! xx

    Posted by Vicky Green | October 1, 2011, 1:59 pm
    • hi Vicky totally agree with you, I spent an hour trying to get them and they were on ebay within 15 mins, it’s about time these sights like ebay and seatwave etc… were stopped, let the genuine fans have them, not greedy people. Elaine

      Posted by elaine.e | October 1, 2011, 3:19 pm
    • Hi Vicky
      I was lucky I managed to get my daughter tickets, but throught SeeTickets.com If they announce more dates, go through them. They usually sell out after Ticketmaster and the actual venues and I’ve had loads of tickets off them for various shows, including Take That!!! Never had a problem with the tickets and they only charge you the ticket price plus the usual £3 – £4. They’ve sold out now obviously, but give them a go next time. Also, try GetMeIn.com I got my last set of Take That tickets through them and although you do have to pay over the odds they’re a Ticketmaster company, so you know you’re not going to lose your tickets to some scam. Good luck x

      Posted by Jan | October 1, 2011, 3:30 pm
    • i feel the exact same, and my sister is in hospital!! i was on since 9 went on ten to 10 and tickets were gone? unavaible when they werent even suppose be on sale yet, plus i tried for one hour ringing places and my sister is now in hospital more upset, please update on more dates this is ridicolous cause one direction inspire me <3

      Posted by rebecca louth | October 1, 2011, 5:05 pm
  2. It that tickets went on sale 2 minutes early! i know because i was frantically refreshing my page before the 10am deadline to ensure that I got on as quickly as possible to but tickets for the Teenmonsters in my house who are obsessed with one Direction. You’d think that as i got on before 10am I’d be a very happy mother right now…not a chance! Not a ticket to be had for any date.

    Posted by Bigbird0966 | October 1, 2011, 2:41 pm
  3. I went on ticketmaster at 10am on the dot and managed to get 4 tickets for the glasgow date without a problem, i also had ticketsoup open at the same time but at 2 minutes past a message came up saying no dates were available, looks like ticketsoup starting selling.

    Posted by danielle | October 1, 2011, 3:36 pm
  4. The tickets did go on sale a couple of minutes early. It was 9:58 by my computers time. Still got my tickets though!! :D

    Posted by Jones | October 1, 2011, 5:57 pm
  5. yeah they did come out a few minutes before 10am, i had already bought mine on ticketmaster for Brighton by 9:59

    Posted by rosie | October 1, 2011, 6:19 pm
  6. When I went on ticketmaster at 10am it had already sold out, the most annoying thing is that 10mins later ebay and other sites have them on sale for over double the price, I’m gutted I have to let me neice down Im now bidding on ebay but if they are goin release more dates it might be worth waiting.

    Posted by Amanda | October 1, 2011, 10:18 pm
  7. I was lucky enough to get tickets for the Glasgow matinee for me and my friend. We are massive one direction fans and my friend has a very successful 1D twitter fan page. However the tickets went on sale and 9:48 am as apposed to 10 am.

    Posted by Erin | October 2, 2011, 8:50 am
  8. I spent ages trying to get a ticket and yet they still sold out really quickly, I had to then go and spend over £100 for them on eBay. Not fair.

    Posted by Erin | October 2, 2011, 8:53 am
  9. I am a huge fan and I went on the website from 9am refreshing the page constantly. By my computers time it was 9:55am when i lat refreshed it and there were none available. Never been so heartbroken in my life!

    Posted by molly | October 2, 2011, 8:54 am
  10. I don’t understand how so many people didn’t end up getting them and complaining that they went on sale before 10, because it was only ticketmaster that sold them early (if they did I’m not sure) but I didn’t get mine until about 5 past 10 and I got them from the other website that one direction tweeted, which was gigsandtours and I managed to get row p in the stalls, people shouldn’t just rely on, it always has problems!

    Posted by Courtney | October 2, 2011, 1:51 pm
  11. Tickets did go on sell 2 mins early. i was by my computer ready to buy and at 9.58 it came up as find ticket. I was one of the lucky ones…………

    Posted by sam | October 2, 2011, 2:41 pm
  12. people are actually trying to sell tickets on ebay for £1000 when they have bought them for £27.how can ebay let people do this??

    Posted by susie q | October 2, 2011, 2:41 pm
  13. we queued up outside the city hall in Newcastle from 6am, there were already around a thousand people in front of us. most had camped out all night. Before the tickets went on sale everyone in the queue pushed forward. People who had camped all night had people who had just arrived push in front of them!! The police arrived but could do little to sort out the situation. When the box office opened we found out that there were only about 1000 tickets to sell, the rest were on various ticket websites. Many people who had spent alll nigh there did not get any tickets and there were hundreds of very upset people wondering around in disbelief!! later on Saturday we checked ebay and people had tickets for sale on Ebay at £300 per ticket. Discusting behaviour from greedy greedy ticket touts.

    Posted by Sammii | October 3, 2011, 8:07 am
  14. I had ticket master, ticket factory and gigs and tours since 9am saturday morning.
    it was 9:57 and my mum refreshed the page and said ticket master tickets were on sale, so i refreshed my page too. at 9:58 after various tries it said there were ‘no matches for 4 tickets’ so it was obvious ticket master had sold out before 10?!
    so i tried ticket factory next… at 10am tickets went on sale, so i managed to find some block 7 upper tier row aa. so that was the front of the upper tier seats. i said there was no chance im risking trying again, so we just booked them. after we brought them i searched again and there were none left! by this time, it was 10:03 so birmingham sold out very quick indeed. im just so grateful i got tickets! and feel so bad for fans that never!! :(

    Posted by OneDFan | October 3, 2011, 9:01 am
  15. I camped out with my daughter at Nottingham from 6pm Friday (and we were not first in line, the first one was there from 1pm!) there was security there all night at the request of the One Direction tour Manager, it was all very orderly. There were 4 of us, 2x Mums 2 x girls, we could have been greedy and purchased 16 tickets and got the girls tickets for both shows but we only got the girls one ticket each as we felt that would be so unfair for people further back in the queue, had I known ticket touts would be buying them I would have bought 16 and sold them at the cost price to genuine fans. I feel so sorry for the poor girls who have missed out, all I can say is don’t give up hope and if they do announce further dates I just hope and pray genuine fans get them.

    Posted by DJW | October 3, 2011, 9:49 am
    • Good on you for just being a normal human being and not some greedy money grabbing idiot! problem is genuine fans now have to pay £300 per ticket, disgraceful, especially considering most fans are under 16 and little monet. this really needs sorting out, how can ebay get away with this-DISGUSTING!!

      Posted by susie q | October 3, 2011, 10:12 am
  16. Hi I left a comment earlier about greedy people selling on ebay etc… but reading some of the comments about people buying them on ebay I feel that if everybody stopped buying them off these sites at stupid prices these greedy people would not buy the tickets anymore if they could not sell them. So it is us (the fans) fault in a way?

    Posted by Elaine. E | October 4, 2011, 11:39 am
    • Yes I agree Elaine, I guess that is the only way to put a stop to it. I certainly couldn’t afford the ebay and Viagogo prices but I suppose some can and will do anything for a happy child

      Posted by DJW | October 5, 2011, 8:43 am
  17. I Paid over 200 pounds for 2 tickets:/

    Posted by Larysa | February 22, 2012, 10:38 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 152 other followers

