Facebook

Is Facebook going to delete your account in 24 hours? No, it’s another phishing scam

Facebook users are being hit by a new scam that falsely claims their accounts will be closed unless they reveal a range of private information. The phishing scam asks users to divulge, among other things, their passwords and financial information.

Needless to say, it’s a scam. Facebook isn’t going to close accounts in this way, and the aim of the phishing attack appears to be twofold: to gain credit card details, and to gain log-ins so that the scam can be sent onto your friends.

While it’s easy to criticise people for falling victim to such scams, it’s worth pointing out that even some legitimate websites (though not Facebook, IMHO) are training users to feel comfortable with giving over this kind of information.

About Michael R. Gideon

Writer, teacher, dog walker, guitarist, husband, father, reader, journalist etc. I mainly write at 100gf | Politics and Computers, but occasionally at other sites such as TV Vomit and Indie Bookspot. My Google Plus profile.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: