Books, Sex

Literary Review prepares to announce winner of the 2011 Bad Sex award

The Literary Review is shortly to announce the winner of its annual Bad Sex award. The presentation will take place in December, but a shortlist of 12 title has already been drawn up and the 19th year of the awards looks set to be one of the finest.

The nominees come from Britain, the US, Hungary, Japan and Australia, and include such luminaries as Stephen King, Haruki Murakami and Jean Auel. Some of the literary world’s biggest names are up for the award, which some accept with resignation and others find rather humiliating.

Last year’s prize went to Rowan Somerville, who suggested that bad sex is something rather English. Other nominees for last year’s award included Jonathan Franzen and Alastair Campbell, so at least Somerville was in good company.


About Sarah Bosdiccia

Sarah Bosdiccia is a writer, journalist, blogger and editorial assistant. In the past, she has worked in the local newspaper business and has taught journalism modules at undergraduate level. She doesn't 'do' Facebook but you can follow her at @sarah_bosdiccia.


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: