Google

Concern as Google plans to merge user info across all its sites

Google has confirmed that it is planning to merge user info across all its sites, treating people as a ‘single user’ across all sites. The company says this will allow it to offer a more intuitive service, but privacy campaigners are warning that it’s a dangerous move that could attract regulatory attention.

In some ways, what Google is doing isn’t really that big of a deal. Most people would probably expect Google to already recognise people as a ‘single user’ across services such as Google Search, Google+ and Gmail. But given the fact that many people now store highly sensitive information via Google, some people are worried about data security.

Online privacy was a big story in 2011 and that looks to continue in 2012. The full implications of the Google changes aren’t yet known, but are expected to come into force in March. Users are not expected to be able to opt out of the new system.

About Michael R. Gideon

Writer, teacher, dog walker, guitarist, husband, father, reader, journalist etc. I mainly write at 100gf | Politics and Computers, but occasionally at other sites such as TV Vomit and Indie Bookspot. My Google Plus profile.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: